### **Cross-Party Group Annual Return**

**Name of Cross-Party Group** 

**Cross-Party Group on Malawi** 

**Date Group Established** 

October 28th 2021

**Date of Most Recent Annual General Meeting (AGM)** 

October 6th 2022

**Date Annual Return Submitted** 

December 12th 2022

**Date of Preceding AGM** [this date is required to aid clerks in verifying that the most recent AGM has taken place within 11 to 13 months of the previous AGM]

October 28th 2021

## **Group Meetings and Activities**

Please provide details of each meeting of the Group including the date of the meeting, a brief description of the main subjects discussed and the MSP and non-MSP attendance figures.

Details of any other activities, such as visits undertaken by the Group or papers/report published by the Group should also be provided.

October 6th 2022 – 64 attendees, including 5 MSPs. In this hybrid meeting, the leading Malawian artist and creator of Trafalgar Square fourth plinth statue 'Antelope', Samson Kambalu, was joined by his

Scottish wife Susan, to address the CPG. A maquette of the statue was displayed, publicly, without charge in the Scottish Parliament.

The meeting also included the Group's formal AGM with the (re-) election of Office bearers.

June 15th 2022 – 56 attendees including 5 MSPs. Representatives of a community in Malawi and NGO project partners spoke of an innovative community-led Education project spearheaded by Tafika, a volunteer youth organisation in Ekwendeni, Northern Malawi. It is an holistic, system-based approach in which the community has enlisted the expertise of Mary's Meals, Classrooms for Malawi, Bananbox Trust, Formidable Joy, Harvest Plus and Zambia and Malawi Community Partnership to work together to help achieve Tafika's vision of being self-sustainable.

October 28th 2021 – 39 attendees including 9 MSPs. This digital meeting connected MSPs with members of civic society within their constituency to share news of the brilliant work there are doing in Malawi.

## **MSP Members of The Group**

Please provide names and party designation of all MSP members of the Group.

Liam McArthur MSP (Scottish Liberal Democrats)

Alexander Stewart MSP (Scottish Conservatives)

Dr Alasdair Allan MSP (Scottish National Party)

Sarah Boyack MSP (Scottish Labour Party)

Mark Ruskell MSP (Scottish Green Party)

Rhoda Grant MSP (Scottish Labour)

Colin Smyth (Scottish Labour) Fiona Hyslop (Scottish National Party)

Foysol Choudhury (Scottish Labour)

Jenni Minto (Scottish National Party)

Stephanie Callaghan (Scottish National Party)

### **Non-MSP Members of The Group**

For organisational members please provide only the name of the organisation, it is not necessary to provide the name(s) of individuals who may represent the organisation at meetings of the Group.

#### **Individuals**

**Prof Heather Cubie** 

Susan Dalgety

Brian Kerr

**Evie Murray** 

Prof Tim Eden

Towera Munthali

**Douglas Blackwood** 

**David Alsop** 

Jailos Mapeza

Iain Fulton

Sheena Nicolson

**Una Nicolson** 

Rosemary Harrison

Prof Robert M Kalin

Mark Parsons

Pam Wilson

Fletcher Matandika

Joyce Juma-Phiri

**Prof Paul Garside** 

Giles Henley

Lameck Chirwa

Dr Antonia Ho

Alan Laverock

Dr Tracy Morse

**Eve Broadis** 

Anne Brown

Graham Kenala

Willies Mwandira

Jenifer Barrett

Ian Mitchell

**Archie Marshall** 

Sarah Black

Helen Wright

Penny Hardie

Prof Iain Woodhouse

Helen Mein

**Thomson Chirwa** 

Moira Dunworth

Sally Rae

Kate McLaughlin

Raymond French

Katie Allan

Anthony Andrew

Jim Atken

**Enock Bamusi** 

Caroline Beck

Sandra Black

Anna Boni

Colin Cameron

Patrick Carrigan

**Douglas Clarke** 

Robert Cleghorn

**Daniel Cosgrove** 

**Hatty Cumber** 

Ashley Douglas

Brian Ferguson

Carol Finlay

Claire Footit

Jane Forster

Dr Lore Gallastegi

Jane Gebbie

**Grant Gebbie** 

**Bob Garrow** 

**Dermot Gorman** 

Maureen Gowans

Nigel Harper

Eileen Henderson

Lucy Hensher

**Chrissie Hirst** 

Paul Johnson

Webster Kameme

Andy Kerr

**David Knox** 

Crispin Longden

**Hazel MacIver** 

Mitchell Manson

Grace Manyika

Angus McLeod

Alison O'Connell

Siobhan O'Connor

**David Osborne** 

Lillian Owiti

Cat Rawlinson-Watkins

Francesca Roberts

Denis Robson

**David Somervell** 

**Dr Peter West** 

Amy Westerndarp

	Ben Wilson
	Adah Younger
	Stuart Brown
Organisations	CBM UK
	Celsius
	Jompy
	Church of Scotland
	Edinburgh Malawi Cancer Partnership
	Edinburgh Napier University
	Education Scotland
	EMMS International
	Footit by Design
	Friends of Mulanje Orphans (FOMO)
	GALVmed
	Hon Consul Malawi
	Leprosy at Utale Village
	Link Education International
	Mamie Martin Fund
	Open University Scotland
	R.S. Garrow Ltd
	RCS Edinburgh
	Scotland Malawi Partnership
	Scottish Community Climate Action
	Sense Scotland
	St Andrews University
	Strathclyde University
	Tear Fund
	The Global Concerns Trust
	Turing Trust
	UNICEF
	University of Glasgow

### **Group Office Bearers**

Please provide names for all office bearers. The minimum requirement is that two of the office bearers are MSPs and one of these is Convener – beyond this it is a matter for the Group to decide upon the office bearers it wishes to have. It is permissible to have more than one individual elected to each office, for example, co-conveners or multiple deputy conveners.

Convener	Co-Conveners: Liam McArthur MSP, Alexander Stewart MSP, Alasdair Allan MSP
Deputy Convener	Co-Deputy Conveners: Sarah Boyack MSP, Mark Ruskell MSP
Secretary	David Hope-Jones, CEO of the Scotland Malawi Partnership
Treasurer	None

If the Group is not disclosing any financial information please tick the box to confirm that the Group has considered the support received, but concluded it totalled under the threshold for disclosure (£500).

# **Subscription Charged by the Group**

Please provide details of the amount charged and the purpose for which the subscription is intended to be used.

None

#### **Convener Contact Details**

Name	Liam McArthur, MSP
Parliamentary address	14 Palace Road, Kirkwall, Orkney KW15 1PA

Telephone number	01856 876541
------------------	--------------