Cross-Party Group Annual Return

Name of Cross-Party Group

Cross-Party Group on Lung Health

Date Group Established (the date of establishment is the date in this parliamentary session that the Group held its initial meeting, where the office bearers were elected and not the date that the Group was accorded recognition. All Groups should hold their AGMs on, or before, the anniversary of this date.)

21 June 2021

Date of Most Recent Annual General Meeting (AGM)

2 May 2025

Date Annual Return Submitted

2 June 2025

Date of Preceding AGM [this date is required to aid clerks in verifying that the most recent AGM has taken place within 11 to 13 months of the previous AGM]

29 May 2024

Group Meetings and Activities

Please provide details of each meeting of the Group including the date of the meeting, a brief description of the main subjects discussed and the MSP and non-MSP attendance figures.

Details of any other activities, such as visits undertaken by the Group or papers/report published by the Group should also be provided.

29 May 2024 (AGM and general meeting)

Following the AGM, the CPG heard from Mr Mackay, Dr Kelly and Dr Melville of NHS Borders on acute respiratory care in a technology enables virtual ward and Laura Jess of NHS Lothian and Chair of the Association for Respiratory technology and Physiology Scotland on the current challenge and future direction of spirometry testing.

3 MSPs attended and 19 non-MSPs attended in person.

27 September 2024

The CPG heard a presentation from Gareth Brown of Asthma + Lung UK Scotland on the charity's new report 'Clearing the Air: Transport + Lung Health', Dr Tom Fardon on progress with the Respiratory Care Action Plan and the work of the Centre for Sustainable Delivery's Respiratory Specialist Delivery Group, and Dr Lisa O'Leary from Napier University on the co-creation of a CPG toolkit on self-management of respiratory health issues in people with learning disabilities.

There were 2 MSPs and 27 non-MSPs in attendance.

29 November 2024

The CPG heard presentations from Andrew Cumella of Asthma + Lung UK on COPD care levels in Scotland and Dr Gourab Choudhury of NHS Lothians on shaping the future of COPD in Scotland.

There were 2 MSPs and 35 non-MSPs in attendance.

7 February 2025

The CPG heard presentations from Sheila Duffy of ASH Scotland on the new tobacco and vaping legislation and Monica Fletcher and Chris Griffiths of the Centre for Applied Respiratory Research, Innovation and Impact (CARRii) on the launch of the new centre. There 3 MSPs and 31 non-MSP in attendance.

MSP Members of The Group

Please provide names and party designation of all MSP members of the Group.

Emma Harper MSP (SNP)

Alexander Stewart MSP (Scottish Conservatives)

Mark Ruskell MSP (Scottish Greens)

Monica Lennon MSP (Scottish Labour)

Jackie Baillie MSP (Scottish Labour)

Colin Beattie MSP (SNP)

Beatrice Wishart MSP (Liberal Democrats)

Non-MSP Members of The Group

For organisational members please provide only the name of the organisation, it is not necessary to provide the name(s) of individuals who may represent the organisation at meetings of the Group.

Individuals

Steven Adair

Esme Allen

Ross Barrow

Param Bharaj

Colin Brett

Sophie Bridger

Jo Broomfield

Gareth Brown

Shona Brown

Steve Brown

Benji Brown

Graeme Bryson

Brian Cadenhead

Chris Carlin

Joseph Carter

George Chalmers

Martin Charters

Gourab Choudhury

Martina Chukwuma-Ezike

Eireann Clapham

Emma Clitheroe

Liam Clutterbuck

Judith Colligan

Phyllis Craig

Anne Crilly

Damian Crombie

Andy Currie

George Davidson

Andrew Deans

Katie Dexter

Michelle Duffy

Sheila Duffy

Craig Easdale

Amy Evetts

Tom Fardon

Adrian Fineberg

Monica Fletcher

Brian Forbes

Dianne Foster

Olivia Fulton

Vivienne Gaynor

Aaron Gowson

Linda Gray

Claire Headspeath

David Heffernan

Lesley Hill

Katie Johnston

Steve Jones

Emily Kennedy

Pamela Kirkpatrick

Julie Lennon

Tara Lillis

Gary Litherland

John Lockhart

Jean Lord

Julie MacDougall

Elaine Mackay

Tom Mackay

Marion Mackie

Kenneth Macleod

Jill MacLeod

Liz Mason

Sara McArthur

Garry McDonald

Debbie McFaulds

Willie McGhee

Vicki McGrain Rae

Leanne McGuire

Linda McLeod BEM

Ann McMurray

Tracey Miller

Phyllis Murphie

Kirsty Murray

Lisa Murray

Adam Osprey

Bradley Price

Sharon Ralph

Stefan Raue

Anne Ritchie

Nicola Roberts

Graeme Rose

Claudia Ruppert

Arlene Shaw

Laura Smart

Claire Smith

Margaret Stevenson

Alison Stewart

Richard Stork

Zieda Taylor

Carol Thompson

Frank Toner

Katie Vance

Karen Vint

Amanda Walker

Maureen Ward

Julie Westwood

Agnes Whyte MBE

Paul Wilson

Carol Wood

Mark Prior

Ally Simmonds

Ben Combe

Organisations

ABPI

Action for Pulmonary Fibrosis

Action on Asbestos

Asbestos Action

ASH Scotland

Asthma + Lung UK

Asthma and Allergy Foundation

AstraZeneca

AUKCAR

Aultbea and Gairloch Medical Practice

Boehringer Ingelheim Ltd

Breathe Easy Clackmannanshire

Breathe Easy Fife

Breathtakers - Action on Bronchiectasis

Cadham Pharmacy

Chest Heart and Stroke Scotland

Chiesi Ltd

Community Pharmacy Scotland

Edinburgh Napier University

Glasgow City Parents Group

GSK

John MacDougall Mesothelioma Trust

Member of the Scottish Parliament

Muiredge Surgery

NASUWT

National Service Scotland Home Oxygen Service

National Services Scotland

NHS Borders

NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde

NHS Highland

NHS Lanarkshire, Community Respiratory Service

NHS Lothian

NHS Tayside/ Respiratory Pharmacist Specialist Interest Group

NHS Tayside; and Centre for Sustainable Delivery

Niox Group PLC

Nooku

Novartis Pharmaceuticals UK

PCD Support UK

PCRS

Respiratory Physiology Service, NHS Lothian

RHCYP, NHS Lothian

Robert Gordon University

Roche Products Ltd

Royal Pharmaceutical Society

Scottish Respiratory Pharmacy Special Interest Group
Sefam Medical UK
The Cheyne Gang
Trudell Medical UK
University of West Scotland
Vitalograph
Vivisol

Group Office Bearers

Please provide names for all office bearers. The minimum requirement is that two of the office bearers are MSPs and one of these is Convener – beyond this it is a matter for the Group to decide upon the office bearers it wishes to have. It is permissible to have more than one individual elected to each office, for example, co-conveners or multiple deputy conveners.

Convener	Emma Harper MSP Alexander Stewart MSP
Deputy Convener	Mark Ruskell MSP
Secretary	Asthma + Lung UK Scotland, c/o Gareth Brown
Treasurer	None

If the Group is not disclosing any financial information please tick the box to confirm that the Group has considered the support received, but concluded it totalled under the threshold for disclosure (£500).

Subscription Charged by the Group

Please provide details of the amount charged and the purpose for which the subscription is intended to be used.

None		
Convener Contact Details		
Name	Emma Harper MSP Alexander Stewart MSP	
Parliamentary address		
Telephone number	Emma - 0131 348 6965 Alexander - 0131 348 6135	