Cross-Party Group Annual Return

Name of Cross-Party Group

Cross-Party Group on Life Sciences

Date Group Established (the date of establishment is the date in this parliamentary session that the Group held its initial meeting, where the office bearers were elected and not the date that the Group was accorded recognition. All Groups should hold their AGMs on, or before, the anniversary of this date.)

Tuesday 15th June, 2021

Date of Most Recent Annual General Meeting (AGM)

Tuesday 30th May, 2023

Date Annual Return Submitted

Tuesday 13th June 2023

Date of Preceding AGM [this date is required to aid clerks in verifying that the most recent AGM has taken place within 11 to 13 months of the previous AGM]

Wednesday 8th June, 2022

Group Meetings and Activities

Please provide details of each meeting of the Group including the date of the meeting, a brief description of the main subjects discussed and the MSP and non-MSP attendance figures.

Details of any other activities, such as visits undertaken by the Group or papers/report published by the Group should also be provided.

Tuesday 15th November 2022

Attendance: 3 MSPs, 33 Non-MSPs

This meeting included an update from Humza Yousaf MSP, a presentation on the UK's AMR pilot study and a presentation on the Scottish Government AMR work program. The meeting took place inperson at the Scottish Parliament.

Tuesday 21 February 2023

Attendance: 4 MSPs, 32 Non-MSPs

This meeting included a Ministerial update from Ivan McKee MSP, a presentation on the future of mRNA, and an update on the Life Science Export Strategy. The meeting took place in-person at the Scottish Parliament.

Tuesday 30 May 2023

Attendance: 3 MSPs, 42 Non-MSPs

This meeting included the AGM, a presentation by Professor Dame Anna Dominiczak on the CSO as an Engine for the Innovation and Entrepreneurship in Scotland and a presentation on the findings of the Fraser of Allander report into the economic contribution of the Pharmaceuticals Sector in Scotland. The meeting took place in-person at the Scottish Parliament.

MSP Members of The Group

Please provide names and party designation of all MSP members of the Group.

- 1. Kenneth Gibson MSP Scottish National Party
- 2. Graham Simpson MSP Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party
- 3. Fulton MacGregor MSP Scottish National Party
- 4. Miles Briggs MSP Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party
- 5. Sue Webber MSP Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party
- 6. Craig Hoy MSP Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party
- 7. Michael Marra MSP Scottish Labour Party
- 8. Michelle Thomson MSP Scottish National Party
- 9. Ivan McKee MSP Scottish National Party

10. Brian Whittle MSP - Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party

Non-MSP Members of The Group

For organisational members please provide only the name of the organisation, it is not necessary to provide the name(s) of individuals who may represent the organisation at meetings of the Group.

Individuals	
Organisations	Amgen
	Antibody Analytics
	Association of British HealthTech Industries
	The Association of the British Pharmaceutical Industry
	AstraZeneca
	BioAscent
	Bristol-Myers Squibb, Novartis
	British Lung Foundation
	Cancer Research UK
	Celgene
	Cheisi
	College of Medicine and Veterinary Medicine
	Community Pharmacy Scotland
	Epidarex
	Ettrickburn
	European Lead Factory
	Glasgow University
	GSK
	Healthcare Public Affairs Ltd
	Heriot Watt University
	Kyowakirin
	Medtronic
	Merck

Moredun Foundation

MS Society Scotland

MSD

NHS National Services Scotland

NovaBiotics

Novartis

Novo Nordisk

NRS

Pfizer

PPD

Roche

Roslin Innovation Centre and Roslin BioCentre

Royal Pharmaceutical Society

Scottish Council for Development and Industry

Scottish Enterprise

Scottish Lifesciences Association

Skills Development Scotland

Strathclyde University

Stratified Medicines Scotland

SULSA

Tepnel

Teva UK

UCB Pharma

University of Dundee

University of Edinburgh

University of Glasgow

University of St Andrews

VQC Analytics Ltd

Group Office Bearers

Please provide names for all office bearers. The minimum requirement is that two of the office bearers are MSPs and one of

these is Convener – beyond this it is a matter for the Group to decide upon the office bearers it wishes to have. It is permissible to have more than one individual elected to each office, for example, co-conveners or multiple deputy conveners.

Convener	Kenneth Gibson MSP
Deputy Convener	Graham Simpson MSP
Secretary	Alison Culpan, ABPI
Treasurer	

If the Group is not disclosing any financial information, please tick the box to confirm that the Group has considered the support received, but concluded it totalled under the threshold for disclosure (£500).

Subscription Charged by the Group

Please provide details of the amount charged and the purpose for which the subscription is intended to be used.

There is no subscription charged by the group

Convener Contact Details

Name	Kenneth Gibson MSP
Parliamentary address	The Scottish Parliament Edinburgh EH99 1SP
Telephone number	0131 348 6536