Cross-Party Group on Gardening & Horticulture

Thursday, 16th March 2023 Q1.04, the Scottish Parliament

MINUTES

Present

MSPs

- Rachael Hamilton MSP (Convenor)
- Annabelle Ewing MSP
- Sharon Dowey MSP (Virtual)

Non-MSP group members

- David Lydiat, HTA
- Neil Cumming, HTA
- Helen MacDonald, HTA
- James Barnes, HTA
- Jennifer Pheasey, HTA
- Brian Cunningham, Scone Palace
- Lewis Normand, I PlantsMan
- Juliette Camburn, Keep Scotland Beautiful
- Liz Steward, Scotland's Garden Scheme
- · Jo Cook, Trellis Scotland
- David Knott, RBGE
- Raoul Curtis-Machin, RBGE
- Ruth Vichos, SRUC
- Claire Ghee, Scot Gov
- Ann Steele, National Trust Scotland

Apologies

- Christine Grahame MSP
- Jackson Carlaw MSP
- Alex Rowley MSP

Agenda Item 1

Welcome and apologies

The convenor welcomed everyone to the meeting and apologies were noted

Agenda Item 2

Election of office bearers

Rachael Hamilton MSP was re-elected convenor of the CPG

Christine Grahame MSP was re-elected deputy convenor of the CPG

The Horticultural Trades Association was elected secretariat of the CPG

Agenda Item 3

Opening remarks and presentation on Scottish Environmental Horticulture Growth Strategy

James Barnes, chairman of the HTA, provided opening remarks and made a short presentation on the HTA's Scottish Environmental Horticultural Growth Strategy.

Agenda Item 4

Discussion of Scottish Environmental Horticulture Growth Strategy

A discussion of the Growth Strategy between members was facilitated, chaired by the convenor.

Agenda Item 5

AOB

 Including recent member projects, education and horticulture in schools and the work of Trellis.

Agenda Item 6

Next meeting

Next meeting to be held after summer recess