Cross-Party Group Annual Return

Name of Cross-Party Group

Cross-Party Group on Freedom of Religion or Belief

Date Group Established (the date of establishment is the date in this parliamentary session that the Group held its initial meeting, where the office bearers were elected and not the date that the Group was accorded recognition. All Groups should hold their AGMs on, or before, the anniversary of this date.)

28th October 2021

Date of Most Recent Annual General Meeting (AGM)

25th October 2023

Date Annual Return Submitted

06th November 2023

Date of Preceding AGM [this date is required to aid clerks in verifying that the most recent AGM has taken place within 11 to 13 months of the previous AGM]

16th November 2022

Group Meetings and Activities

Please provide details of each meeting of the Group including the date of the meeting, a brief description of the main subjects discussed and the MSP and non-MSP attendance figures.

Details of any other activities, such as visits undertaken by the Group or papers/report published by the Group should also be provided.

16th November 2022 - Presentation by The Bishop of Truro, Philip Mounstephen on his landmark report *The Bishop of Truro's Independent Review for the UK Foreign Secretary of Foreign and Commonwealth Office Support for Persecuted Christians*. Attended by 3 MSPs & 19 Non-MSPs Members

1st March 2023 – Open Doors' World Watch List 2023 presented by Alan Meldrum. Attended by 2 MSPs & 25 Non-MSP Members

31st May 2023 – Aid to the Church in Need's investigation into Freedom of Religion or Belief concerns in Nigeria, presented by John Pontifex. Attended by 3 MSPs & 7 Non-MSP members.

25th October 2023 – AGM & Roundtable discussion on how faith and belief communities see the current situation for their group in Scotland. Attended by 3 MSPs & 22 Non-MSP members.

MSP Members of The Group

Please provide names and party designation of all MSP members of the Group.

John Mason MSP Murdo Fraser MSP Jeremy Balfour MSP Stephen Kerr MSP Katy Clark MSP

Non-MSP Members of The Group

For organisational members please provide only the name of the organisation, it is not necessary to provide the name(s) of individuals who may represent the organisation at meetings of the Group.

Individuals

Frances Hume Ahmed Owusu Alan Meldrum Jeremy Balfour MSP

Daniel Gilius Kazim Ukka

Omar Afzal

Magdalen Lambkin Dr. Maureen Sier Oliver Lane

Ravinder Kaur Nijjar Rev Bonnie Evans-Hills

Rev Gary Dean Stephen Scholes Allison Stephen Susan Siegel Mr. M. Lovitt

Rt Rev Sally-Foster Fulton

Anthony Horan
David Cavanagh
James Fraser
Brian Miller
John Mason MSP
Murdo Fraser MSP
Philip Mendelsohn
Michael Veitch

Organisations

Interfaith Scotland

Ahmadiyya Community

Open Doors MEND

Muslim Community
Interfaith Glasgow
Baha'i Community
Family Federation
Faith and Belief Dundee
Muslim Forum of Scotland

Sikh Community
Episcopal Church
Christian community
Jewish Community

General Assembly of the Church of Scotland

Catholic Parliamentary Office

Salvation Army

Release International
Care
Jewish Community

Group Office Bearers

Please provide names for all office bearers. The minimum requirement is that two of the office bearers are MSPs and one of these is Convener – beyond this it is a matter for the Group to decide upon the office bearers it wishes to have. It is permissible to have more than one individual elected to each office, for example, co-conveners or multiple deputy conveners.

Convener	John Mason MSP
Deputy Convener	Murdo Fraser MSP
Secretary	Interfaith Scotland
Treasurer	N/A

Financial Benefits or Other Benefits

Please provide details of any financial or material benefit(s) the Group anticipates receiving from a single source in a calendar year which has a value, either singly or cumulatively, of more than £500. This includes donations, gifts, hospitality or visits and material assistance such as secretariat support.

N/A	
Convener Cont	act Details
Name	John Mason MSP
Parliamentary address	1335 Gallowgate Glasgow, G31 4DN
Telephone number	0141 550 4327