Cross-Party Group Annual Return

Name of Cross-Party Group

Cross-Party Group on Crofting

Date Group Established (the date of establishment is the date in this parliamentary session that the Group held its initial meeting, where the office bearers were elected and not the date that the Group was accorded recognition. All Groups should hold their AGMs on, or before, the anniversary of this date.)

15 September 2021

Date of Most Recent Annual General Meeting (AGM)

10 January 2024

Date Annual Return Submitted

9 February 2024

Date of Preceding AGM [this date is required to aid clerks in verifying that the most recent AGM has taken place within 11 to 13 months of the previous AGM]

13 December 2022

Group Meetings and Activities

Please provide details of each meeting of the Group including the date of the meeting, a brief description of the main subjects discussed and the MSP and non-MSP attendance figures.

Details of any other activities, such as visits undertaken by the Group or papers/report published by the Group should also be provided.

17/03/23

Crofting Development 4 MSPs; 53 non-MSPs

14/06/23

Carbon trading and crofting Crofting Commission work Crofting law reform 4 MSPs; 63 non-MSPs

2/11/23

Minister for Energy and the Environment – Gillian Martin MSP Crofting Commission work Crofting law reform 3 MSPs; 35 non-MSPs

10/02/24

AGM

Conditionality on Calving Intervals
Crofting Commission – new CEO
Crofting law reform
5 MSPs; 40 non-MSPs

MSP Members of The Group

Please provide names and party designation of all MSP members of the Group.

Rhoda Grant SL

Alasdair Allan SNP

Beatrice Wishart SLD

Edward Mountain SC&U

Fergus Ewing SNP

Jamie Halcro-Johnston SC&U

Ariane Burgess SGP

Donald Cameron SC&U

Non-MSP Members of The Group

For organisational members please provide only the name of the organisation, it is not necessary to provide the name(s) of individuals who may represent the organisation at meetings of the Group.

Individuals

Alastair Culbertson, Andy Holt, Ann Bruce, Billy Neilson, Brendan O'Hanrahan, David Atkinson, David Cameron, David Skene, Donald Bruce, Donald MacKinnon, Donald Meek, Douglas Coulter, Donald Murdie, Eilidh Ross, Eleanor Arthur, Eleanor Garty, Fiona Mackenzie, Gwyn Jones, Helen O'Keefe, Henry Graham, Iain MacKinnon, Jamie McGrigor, Jamie McIntyre, Jim McPherson, John Maughan, John Norman Macleod, John Toal, Kirsty McColl, Lena Horch, Lorna Murray, Lorne MacLeod, Lucy Beattie, Marcus MacDonald, Michelle Henley, Murray McCheyne, Paddy Zakaria, Phil Knott, Philip Coghill, Rebecca Robson, Robin Haig, Rosemary Champion, Sandy Murray, Tom Gray, Yvonne White

Organisations

Crofting Commission, Comhairle nan Eilean Siar, Farmers for Stock-free Farming, Future Woodlands, Highlands & Islands Enterprise, James Hutton Institute, Land Workers' Alliance, Lantra, National Farmers Union Scotland, Registers of Scotland, BBC, RSPB, SRUC / SAC, Nourish Scotland, Scotlish Crofting Federation, Scottish Government, Scotlish Land and Estates, NatureScot, UHI, Woodland Trust Scotland.

Group Office Bearers

Please provide names for all office bearers. The minimum requirement is that two of the office bearers are MSPs and one of these is Convener – beyond this it is a matter for the Group to decide upon the office bearers it wishes to have. It is permissible to have more than one individual elected to each office, for example, co-conveners or multiple deputy conveners.

Co-Conveners

Rhoda Grant MSP, Alasdair Allan MSP, Beatrice Wishart MSP, Edward Mountain MSP

Deputy Convener	
Secretary	Donna Smith
Treasurer	

Financial Benefits or Other Benefits

Please provide details of any financial or material benefit(s) the Group anticipates receiving from a single source in a calendar year which has a value, either singly or cumulatively, of more than £500. This includes donations, gifts, hospitality or visits and material assistance such as secretariat support.

The group benefits from the secretariat support provided by Donna Smith, an employee of SCF, most of which is in her own time and for which she does not claim compensation in cash or kind. However as there is no provision within the CPG rules for the provision of voluntary support, were Donna to charge for her time it would amount to about £840 for the year (6 meetings, 7 hours per meeting including preparation, attendance and writing up minutes, at £20 per hr).

Convener Contact Details

Name	Rhoda Grant MSP
Parliamentary address	MG.06
Telephone number	0131 348 5766