Cross-Party Group Annual Return

Name of Cross-Party Group

Cross-Party Group on Crofting

Date Group Established (the date of establishment is the date in this parliamentary session that the Group held its initial meeting, where the office bearers were elected and not the date that the Group was accorded recognition. All Groups should hold their AGMs on, or before, the anniversary of this date.)

15 September 2021

Date of Most Recent Annual General Meeting (AGM)

13 December 2022

Date Annual Return Submitted

15 December 2022

Date of Preceding AGM [this date is required to aid clerks in verifying that the most recent AGM has taken place within 11 to 13 months of the previous AGM]

15 September 2021. We had an AGM scheduled for 14 September 2022 but it had to be cancelled due to the period of national mourning. It has been difficult to get a new date as everyone's diaries were disrupted.

Group Meetings and Activities

Please provide details of each meeting of the Group including the date of the meeting, a brief description of the main subjects discussed and the MSP and non-MSP attendance figures.

Details of any other activities, such as visits undertaken by the Group or papers/report published by the Group should also be provided.

15/09/2021

AGM business – confirmation of group and roles

Access to crofts

Crofting administration

Control of greylag geese

4 MSPs; 31 non-MSPs

17/11/2022

Cabinet Secretary for Rural Affairs and Islands Mairi Gougeon

Crofting administration

4 MSPs; 62 non-MSPs

23/02/2022

Carbon and crofting

Crofting administration

4 MSPs; 49 non-MSPs

11/05/2022

Crofting Law Reform

Crofting administration

The bull scheme

5 MSPs; 55 non-MSPs

13/12/2022

Agriculture Reform

Crofting Administration

6 MSPs; 42 non-MSPs

MSP Members of The Group

Please provide names and party designation of all MSP members of the Group.

Rhoda Grant SL

Alasdair Allan SNP

Beatrice Wishart SLD

Edward Mountain SC&U

Donald Cameron SC&U
Fergus Ewing SNP
Jamie Halcro-Johnston SC&U
Ariane Burgess SGP
Jenni Minto SNP

Non-MSP Members of The Group

For organisational members please provide only the name of the organisation, it is not necessary to provide the name(s) of individuals who may represent the organisation at meetings of the Group.

Individuals

Abigail Anne Campbell, Alistair Prior, Angus MacDonald, Becky Shaw, Billy Neilson, Brian Inkster, David Atkinson, Donald Bruce, Donald Meek, Douglas Coulter, Eilidh MacLellan, Fiona MacKenzie, Gwyn Jones, Iain MacKinnon, Jamie McGrigor, Jamie McIntyre, Jean Urquhart, John Norman Macleod, John Williamson; Lorna Murray, Mark Shucksmith, Morag Jardine, Donald Murdie, Paddy Zakaria, Richard Frew, Rod Mackenzie, Rosemary Champion, Ross McLaren, Tom Gray, Zoe Russell

Organisations

Crofting Commission, Comhairle nan Eilean Siar, Farmers for Stock-free Farming, Future Woodlands, Highlands & Islands Enterprise, James Hutton Institute, Land Workers' Alliance, Lantra, National Farmers Union Scotland, Registers of Scotland, BBC, RSPB, SRUC / SAC, Nourish Scotland, Scottish Crofting Federation, Scottish Government, Scottish Land and Estates, NatureScot, UHI, Woodland Trust Scotland.

Group Office Bearers

Please provide names for all office bearers. The minimum requirement is that two of the office bearers are MSPs and one of these is Convener – beyond this it is a matter for the Group to decide upon the office bearers it wishes to have. It is permissible to have

more than one individual elected to each office, for example, coconveners or multiple deputy conveners.

Co-conveners	Rhoda Grant MSP, Alasdair Allan MSP, Beatrice Wishart MSP, Edward Mountain MSP
Secretary	Patrick Krause

Financial Benefits or Other Benefits

Please provide details of any financial or material benefit(s) the Group anticipates receiving from a single source in a calendar year which has a value, either singly or cumulatively, of more than £500. This includes donations, gifts, hospitality or visits and material assistance such as secretariat support.

The group benefits from the secretariat support provided by Patrick Krause, an employee of SCF, most of which is in his own time and for which he does not claim compensation in cash or kind. However as there is no provision within the CPG rules for the provision of voluntary support, were Patrick to charge for his time it would amount to about £840 for the year (6 meetings, 7 hours per meeting including preparation, attendance and writing up minutes, at £20 per hr).

Convener Contact Details

Name	Rhoda Grant MSP
Parliamentary address	MG.06
Telephone number	0131 348 5766