## **Cross-Party Group Annual Return**

## Name of Cross-Party Group

## **Cross-Party Group on China**

**Date Group Established** (the date of establishment is the date in this parliamentary session that the Group held its initial meeting, where the office bearers were elected and not the date that the Group was accorded recognition. All Groups should hold their AGMs on, or before, the anniversary of this date.)

## **Date of Most Recent Annual General Meeting (AGM)**

13 September 2023

### **Date Annual Return Submitted**

12 October 2023

**Date of Preceding AGM** [this date is required to aid clerks in verifying that the most recent AGM has taken place within 11 to 13 months of the previous AGM]

5 October 2021

## **Group Meetings and Activities**

Please provide details of each meeting of the Group including the date of the meeting, a brief description of the main subjects discussed and the MSP and non-MSP attendance figures.

Details of any other activities, such as visits undertaken by the Group or papers/report published by the Group should also be provided.

Following the decision of the previous CPG Convenor Dean Lockhart to step down as an MSP, the MSP membership of the Group fell below the required number.

However, new members have joined the Group and an AGM was held in September, where new office bearers were appointed.

The next meeting is scheduled to take place in December.

### **MSP Members of The Group**

Please provide names and party designation of all MSP members of the Group.

Colin Smyth MSP (Scottish Labour) – Convenor

Paul Sweeney MSP (Scottish Labour) – Vice Convenor

Jackie Baillie MSP (Scottish Labour)

Colin Beattie MSP (Scottish National Party)

Alexander Stewart MSP (Scottish Conservatives)

Craig Hoy MSP (Scottish Conservatives)

## **Non-MSP Members of The Group**

For organisational members please provide only the name of the organisation, it is not necessary to provide the name(s) of individuals who may represent the organisation at meetings of the Group.

#### **Individuals**

Siyi Chen and Max Browning - secretary

James Anderson Nigel Archdale

Alex Avramenko

Eric Balish Ian Baxter

Martin Bell

Anouck Berthier Robert Brennan

James Brodie

Helena Brown

Susan Brown

Michael Burns

Sharon Cheng

Roger Collins

**Carole Couper** 

Matt Cross

Robert Dalzell

Jane Davidson

Jim Dixon

Feyrouz Djabali

Gari Don

Jane Duckett

Carolyn Dunion

Tariq Durrani

Barbara Fennell-Clark

Sheila Forbes

Helen Ford

Yuwen Fortune

Linda Fu

Natascha Gentz

Yu Gonghua

Ian Gow

Katy Gow

Cathy Gu

Jessica Guo

Michael Xin Guo

Alexia Haramis

Alistair Hamilton

Megan Hammell

Ross Haston

Matthew Heap

Nigel Hedley

Caroline Henderson

Jocelyn Heron

**Edmund Hoffie** 

Loki Holbourn

Zhang Hong

Isabel Hui Lui

Isabella Jackson

Meryl James

Richard Jin (Jin Ri)

Owen Kelly

**Greg Kennedy** 

Savanna Kenny

Jamie Kerr

Alick Kitchin

Marcus Kneen

Peter Kwok

**Christopher Land** 

Fan Lin

Wei Lin

Orchid Liu

Catriona Llanwarne

Elaine Logan

**Lindesay Low** 

Martin Low

Aofei Lu

Linus Liu

Mike Lynch

Ping Ma

Simon Macaulay

Catriona MacDonald

Eoghann MacColl

**Donald MacDonald** 

**Andrew Mackie** 

Helen Mackie

Nick Mackie

Fiona Maclean

James MacMillan

Farai Magodo

Clare Maitland

**Henry Maitles** 

Judith McClure

Jim McColm

Susie McCosh

Archie McGlynn

Petra MClay

John McKenzie

Judith McKerrecher

Shaun McPhee

Colin Mitchell

Rosemary Mitchell

Leigh Morris

Tim Musson

Kam Leung Ng (Tommy)

Wing-Sie Ng

Wing-Yan Ng

Lola Nicolas

Ruairidh Nicolson

Gordon Ogilvie

Margie Ogilvie-Stuart

Patrick O'Kane

Fiona Pate

Siobhan Paterson

Graeme Pearson

**Adam Purvis** 

Shilong Quo

Douglas Rae

Jim Reid

**Lindsay Rinning** 

**Andrew Ritchie** 

Ken Robinson

Alan Salonika

Ellie Sandercock

Jim Scott

Rachael Scott

John Somers

**Marion Sporing** 

Sean Sproull

Jim Reid

Alicia Tawil

**Dorothy Thomas** 

Ed Thomson

**Graham Thompson** 

James Trolland

**Edward Tsang** 

Iain Valentine

Ziying Wang

**Oliver Wessely** 

Karin Wilson

Jonathan Wilson

**Andrew Welsh** 

Nathan Woolley

Alan Wright

Jean J. Ye

Deborah Yeo

Lucy Young

Angus Gonghua Yu

Ping Zhang

Dr Hong Zhang

Kiren Zubair

### **Organisations**

**Angus Council** 

Apple Green Homes

Armadale Academy

Asia Scotland Institute

**Baillie Gifford** 

**Barclays Corporate** 

**Blackford Trust** 

**British Council Scotland** 

**Burness Paull LLP** 

China Britain Business Council Scotland

Clyde Blowers Capital

Confucius Institute for Scotland at the University of

Edinburgh

Confucius Institute at the University of Glasgow

Confucius Institute for Scotland's Schools at the

University of Strathclyde

Confucius Institute at the University of Aberdeen

Confucius Institute at Heriot-Watt University

Department of Asian Studies at the University of

Edinburgh

**Dumfries and Galloway College** 

East Ayrshire Council

Edinburgh Academy

Edinburgh Chamber of Commerce

Edinburgh College

**Education Scotland** 

G7 Consultants Ltd

Glasgow Caledonian University

**Great Wall Consultancy** 

Heriot-Watt University

Howden Group

Liberton High School

Loretto School

Lothian and Borders Police

MacLean Commercial Consultancy

North Lanarkshire Council

Positive Solutions (Glasgow)

Repsol Neuvas Energias UK Limited

Ricefields Arts Centre

Ridrum International

Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh

Royal Zoological Society of Scotland
Scotland China Education Network (SCEN)
Scottish Borders Council
Scottish Centre for Chinese Social Science Research
at the University of Glasgow
Scotland's Rural College (SRUC)
Scottish Development International Scottish
Financial Enterprise
St George's School Edinburgh

### **Group Office Bearers**

Please provide names for all office bearers. The minimum requirement is that two of the office bearers are MSPs and one of these is Convener – beyond this it is a matter for the Group to decide upon the office bearers it wishes to have. It is permissible to have more than one individual elected to each office, for example, co-conveners or multiple deputy conveners.

Convener	Colin Smyth MSP
Deputy Convener	Paul Sweeney MSP
Secretary	Fiona Rae – c/o Colin Smyth MSP Office
Treasurer	N/A

#### **Financial Benefits or Other Benefits**

Please provide details of any financial or material benefit(s) the Group anticipates receiving from a single source in a calendar year which has a value, either singly or cumulatively, of more than £500. This includes donations, gifts, hospitality or visits and material assistance such as secretariat support.

I	N	1	Δ
ı	7	•	_

#### **Convener Contact Details**

Name	Colin Smyth
Parliamentary address	M1.17
Telephone number	0131 348 6986

# **COMPLIANCE WITH SECTION 6 OF THE CODE OF CONDUCT**

I, Convener of the Cross-Party Group on <X>, hereby declare that, in line with the requirements of Section 6 of the Code of Conduct, this CPG has:

5 MSP Members from 3 different political parties					
Held at least 2 quorate meetings in the last 12 months					
Held an AGM within 11-13months of the date of registration or the last AGM					
Submitted an annual return form within 30 calendar days of the AGM					
Provided Standards Clerks with 10 calendar days' notice of all meetings					
Provided minutes of all meetings					
Signed Ce state					
Date 12 October 2023					