

Conveners Group

Minutes

1st Meeting, 2021 (Session 6) Wednesday 29 September 2021

Present:

Liam McArthur MSP, Chair of Conveners Group

Clare Adamson MSP, Constitution, Europe, External Affairs and Culture Committee (*Virtual*)

Claire Baker MSP, Economy and Fair Work Committee

Siobhian Brown MSP, COVID-19 Recovery Committee

Ariane Burgess MSP, Local Government, Housing & Planning Committee Jackson Carlaw MSP, Citizen Participation and Public Petitions Committee Finlay Carson MSP, Rural Affairs, Islands and Natural Environment Committee Joe Fitzpatrick MSP, Equalities, Human Rights and Civil Justice Committee Neil Gray MSP, Social Justice and Social Security Committee (*Virtual*) Richard Leonard MSP, Public Audit Committee Dean Lockhart MSP, Net Zero, Energy and Transport Committee Gillian Martin MSP, Health, Social Care and Sport Committee Stuart McMillan MSP, Delegated Powers and Law Reform Committee Audrey Nicoll MSP, Criminal Justice Committee Martin Whitfield MSP, Standards and Procedures and Public Appointments Committee

Apologies:

Kenneth Gibson MSP, Finance and Public Administration Committee Stephen Kerr MSP, Education, Children and Young People Committee

- 1. Introduction to Conveners Group: Conveners made introductory comments on the strategic role of the Conveners Group and discussed developing a collaborative approach to scrutiny of cross-cutting Committee issues.
- 2. Meetings with the First Minister: The Conveners Group agreed that the First Minister should continue to be invited before the group on a twice-yearly basis.

- **3. AOB:** The Group agreed that Deputy Conveners could be invited to attend on behalf of a Convener on a case-by-case basis where there was a relevant item on the agenda.
- **4. Next meeting details:** The Conveners Group agreed to meet on the last Wednesday of the month, as far as possible.

Date of Next Meeting: 27 October 2021

Contact details for the clerk

Irene Fleming Clerk to the Conveners Group Room T3.40 The Scottish Parliament Tel: 0131 348 5256 Email: Irene.Fleming@parliament.scot