

# **Conveners group**

### **Minutes**

8th Meeting, 2023 (Session 6) Wednesday 25 October 2023

#### Present:

Liam McArthur MSP, Convener
Clare Adamson – Constitution, Europe, External Affairs & Culture Committee
Claire Baker - Economy & Fair Work Committee
Ariane Burgess - Local Government, Housing & Planning Committee
Jackson Carlaw - Citizen Participation & Public Petitions Committee
Finlay Carson - Rural Affairs and Islands
Clare Haughey - Health, Social Care & Sport Committee
Stuart McMillan - Delegated Powers and Law Reform Committee
Edward Mountain - Net Zero, Energy & Transport Committee
Audrey Nicoll - Criminal Justice Committee
Collette Stevenson – Social Justice and Social Security Committee
Sue Webber - Education, Children and Young People Committee
Martin Whitfield - Standards, Procedures & Public Appointments Committee

#### Apologies were received from:

Kenneth Gibson – Finance & Public Administration Committee Richard Leonard - Public Audit Committee Kaukab Stewart - Equalities, Human Rights & Civil Justice Committee

- 1. **Minutes:** The Conveners Group agreed the minutes of the last meeting.
- 2. UK Climate Change Committee: The Group held an evidence session with Chris Stark, Chief Executive of the UK Climate Change Committee.
- Cross committee working CG Session 6 Strategic Priority: The Group received an update on the cross-committee work on the Scottish drugs death taskforce. It agreed to consider future areas of work that might benefit from joint scrutiny.

- **4.** Participation, diversity and inclusion CG Session 6 Strategic Priority: The Group agreed the subject of the next people's panel would focus on post legislative scrutiny of the Climate Change (Scotland) Act 2009.
- 5. Scottish Parliament committees and Scottish Government Protocol: The Group agreed for officials to review the protocol between Scottish Parliament committees and the Scottish Government.

Date of Next Meeting: 22 November 2023

## Contact details for the clerk

Irene Fleming Clerk to the Conveners Group Room T3.40 The Scottish Parliament

Tel: 0131 348 5256

Email: <u>Irene.Fleming@parliament.scot</u>