

## **Conveners group**

### **Minutes**

1st Meeting, 2024 (Session 6) Wednesday 31 January 2024

#### Present:

Liam McArthur MSP, Convener

Clare Adamson - Constitution, Europe, External Affairs & Culture Committee

Claire Baker - Economy & Fair Work Committee

Ariane Burgess - Local Government, Housing & Planning Committee

Finlay Carson - Rural Affairs and Islands

Kenneth Gibson – Finance & Public Administration Committee

Clare Haughey - Health, Social Care & Sport Committee

Richard Leonard - Public Audit Committee

Stuart McMillan - Delegated Powers and Law Reform Committee

Edward Mountain - Net Zero, Energy & Transport Committee

Kaukab Stewart - Equalities, Human Rights & Civil Justice Committee

Sue Webber - Education, Children and Young People Committee

#### Apologies were received from:

Jackson Carlaw - Citizen Participation & Public Petitions Committee
Audrey Nicoll - Criminal Justice Committee
Collette Stevenson – Social Justice and Social Security Committee
Martin Whitfield - Standards, Procedures & Public Appointments Committee

- 1. **Minutes:** The Conveners Group agreed the minutes of the last meeting.
- 2. Conveners Group strategic priority Supporting Members as Parliamentarians: The Group discussed options for training or support that would be beneficial for Members in fulfilling their roles as Parliamentarians.
- 3. Conveners Group strategic priority Participation, diversity and inclusion strategy. Payment for participation: The Group discussed a draft payment for participation policy for committee work.

Date of Next Meeting: 20 March 2024

# Contact details for the clerk

Irene Fleming Clerk to the Conveners Group Room T3.40 The Scottish Parliament

Tel: 0131 348 5256

Email: Irene.Fleming@parliament.scot