

Conveners group

Minutes

9th Meeting, 2023 (Session 6) Wednesday 22 November 2023

Present:

Liam McArthur MSP, Convener Claire Baker - Economy & Fair Work Committee Ariane Burgess - Local Government, Housing & Planning Committee Finlay Carson - Rural Affairs and Islands Kenneth Gibson – Finance & Public Administration Committee Richard Leonard - Public Audit Committee Stuart McMillan - Delegated Powers and Law Reform Committee Edward Mountain - Net Zero, Energy & Transport Committee Kaukab Stewart - Equalities, Human Rights & Civil Justice Committee Sue Webber - Education, Children and Young People Committee Martin Whitfield - Standards, Procedures & Public Appointments Committee

Apologies were received from:

Clare Adamson – Constitution, Europe, External Affairs & Culture Committee Jackson Carlaw - Citizen Participation & Public Petitions Committee Clare Haughey - Health, Social Care & Sport Committee Audrey Nicoll - Criminal Justice Committee Collette Stevenson – Social Justice and Social Security Committee

- 1. Minutes: The Conveners Group agreed the minutes of the last meeting.
- 2. Minister for Parliamentary Business: The Group discussed issues around programming of parliamentary business, legislative consent memorandums, post legislative scrutiny and other matters relating to the operation of committees with:
 - George Adam MSP, Minister for Parliamentary Business
 - Steven MacGregor, Head of Parliament and Legislation Unit, Scottish Government

Date of Next Meeting: 31 January 2024

Contact details for the clerk

Irene Fleming Clerk to the Conveners Group Room T3.40 The Scottish Parliament Tel: 0131 348 5256 Email: Irene.Fleming@parliament.scot