Parliamentary Bureau - Committee Membership

Committee membership

1. The Scottish National Party is seeking to make the following changes to committee memberships—

Committee	Membership Change(s)
Rural Affairs and Islands	Alasdair Allan to replace Elena Whitham
Social Justice and Social Security	Elena Whitham to replace Gordon MacDonald
Equalities, Human Rights and Civil Justice	Paul McLennan to replace Evelyn Tweed
Local Government, Housing and Planning	Evelyn Tweed to replace Emma Roddick

2. The Bureau has previously discussed the matter of gender balance on committees. These changes would result in the following changes to the gender balance of the relevant committees—

		Before changes				After changes				Change
Committee	Total	Male	Female	Male	Female	Male	Female	Male	Female	
RAI	9	3	6	33%	67%	4	5	44%	56%	M+1; F- 1
SJSS	8	5	3	63%	37%	4	4	50%	50%	M-1; F+1
EHRCJ	7	1	6	14%	86%	2	5	28%	72%	M+1; F- 1
LGHP	7	4	3	57%	43%	4	3	57%	43%	No change

Decision

3. The Bureau is invited to agree to lodge motions proposing these changes which will be taken at Decision Time on Thursday 19 June, to take effect from that point forward

Parliamentary Business Team June 2025