Parliamentary Bureau - Officeholder Appointment

Members of the Standards Commission for Scotland

Introduction

1. This paper invites the Parliamentary Bureau to timetable a motion inviting the Parliament to agree to the appointment of Morag Ferguson and Lezley Stewart as members of the Standards Commission for Scotland.

Background

- 2. An open recruitment exercise was undertaken by the SPCB and interviews were held on 4 March 2024. Pre-appointment checks have now been completed on the two successful candidates.
- 3. Under the Ethical Standards in Public Life etc. (Scotland) Act 2000, members of the Standards Commission are appointed by the SPCB with the agreement of the Parliament. Standing Orders Rule 3A.1(1b) applies where the agreement of the Parliament has to be sought.
- 4. Once the selection panel has decided on an individual, any member of the panel may lodge a motion seeking the agreement of the Parliament to the nomination.
- 5. Rule 3A.1.3 further provides that any debate on a motion on the nomination is restricted to 30 minutes with each speaker being restricted to no more than 5 minutes.
- 6. Maggie Chapman MSP will lodge the Motion.

Conclusion

7. The Parliamentary Bureau is invited to agree to a motion being timetabled for debate during the week commencing 22 April 2024.

Parliamentary Business Team April 2024