

Minute of Parliamentary Bureau meeting

17 June 2025

Present:

- Alison Johnstone (Chair)
- Jamie Hepburn
- Alexander Burnett
- Martin Whitfield
- Lorna Slater
- Willie Rennie

Also attended:

- Annabelle Ewing
- Liam McArthur
- Rona Mackay

Apologies:

Katy Orr

Officials present:

- David McGill
- Callum Thomson
- Tracey White
- Irene Fleming
- Mark Brough
- Sigrid Robinson
- Joanna Hardy
- Jason Nairn
- Jennifer Griffin
- Gail Grant
- Joanna Kendall
- Samantha Currie
- Fran Iwanyckyj

Agenda item 1 – Previous minutes and matters arising

1. The Bureau agreed the minutes of its meeting on 10 June.

Agenda item 2 – Business Programme

- 2. The Bureau agreed a revised programme of business for the week beginning 16 June and a programme of business for the weeks beginning 23 June and 1 September.
- 3. Business Managers noted that Members' Business in the week beginning 23 June would be—
 - Wednesday 25 June: Patrick Harvie: The Future of Glasgow's Bus Services
 - Thursday 26 June: Douglas Ross: Action to Address the Impact of Gulls in Scotland.

Agenda item 3 – Referral of a Bill at Stage 1

4. Business Managers agreed to recommend to the Parliament by motion that it agrees, under Rule 9.6.1 that the Finance and Public Administration Committee be designated as lead committee in consideration of the Building Safety Levy (Scotland) Bill at Stage 1.

Agenda item 4 – Approval of SSIs

- 5. Business Managers noted that motions to approve the following instruments and laid document would be lodged:
- The Deposit and Return Scheme for Scotland Amendment Regulations 2025;
- The Deposit and Return Scheme for Scotland (Designation of Scheme Administrator) Order 2025
- The Environmental Regulation (Enforcement Measures) (Scotland) Amendment Order 2025
- 6. Alexander Burnett reserved his party's position on:
- the Deposit and Return Scheme for Scotland Amendment Regulations 2025;
- the Deposit and Return Scheme for Scotland (Designation of Scheme Administrator) Order 2025.

Agenda item 5 – Referral of LCMs

- 7. Business Managers agreed to refer, under Rule 9B.3.5—
- the supplementary LCM on the Crime and Policing Bill to the Criminal Justice Committee as lead committee;
- the LCM on the Absent Voting Elections (Scotland and Wales) Bill to the Standards, Procedures and Public Appointments Committee as lead committee;
- the LCM on the Children's Wellbeing and Schools Bill to the Education, Children and Young People Committee as lead committee.

Agenda item 6 – Allocation of Non-Government Business

8. Business Managers agreed the allocation of non-Government business for the current parliamentary year.

Agenda item 7 – Review of Members' Business Motions

9. Business Managers agreed to retain the following Members' Business Motions on the Business Bulletin:

S6M-17103: Katy Clark: Recognition of the State of Palestine

S6M-17147: Sarah Boyack: Scottish Youth Parliament's Work on Transport

S6M-17234: Pam Gosal: Welcoming the Supreme Court's Judgment on the Definition of the Word "Woman"

S6M-16893: Richard Leonard: Scotland in the Red 2024 StepChange Scotland.

Agenda item 8 – Committee Membership Changes

10. Business Managers agreed to lodge motions proposing Committee Membership changes, to be taken at Decision Time on Thursday 19 June, taking effect from that point forward.

Agenda item 9 – Committee request to meet at the same time as Chamber

11. Business Managers agreed to recommend to the Parliament that the Net Zero, Energy and Transport Committee be given permission to meet at the same time as the Chamber on Wednesday 18 June from 17:45 until close of business.

Katy Orr Clerk to the Parliamentary Bureau June 2025