Scrutiny of the draft budget 2015-16



The Health and Sport Committee’s role was to examine the Scottish Government’s Draft Budget and Spending Review and report its findings to the Parliament’s Finance Committee.

The Committee agreed to focus its scrutiny on the Scottish Government’s spending plans for health.

Background information on the Scottish Parliament’s budget scrutiny process can be found on the Finance Committee’s webpages.

Subject committees were required to report their views to the Finance Committee by 12 December 2012.


Written Evidence

The Committee issued a call for evidence on 13 October 2014 with a closing date of 29 October 2014.

Read the Call for Written Evidence (202KB pdf)

Read the written submissions received.

Oral evidence 

The Committee heard oral evidence at its meetings on 28 October and 4 November.

28 October
Dr Andrew Walker, University of Glasgow
Professor David Bell, University of Stirling

Rachel Cackett, Policy Adviser, Royal College of Nursing Scotland
Jill Vickerman, Scottish Secretary, British Medical Association (Scotland)
Lillian Macer, Scottish Convener, UNISON
Annie Gunner Logan, Director, Coalition of Care and Support Providers in Scotland
Kim Hartley, Representative, Allied Health Professions Federation Scotland

4 November
Alex Neil, Cabinet Secretary for Health and Well-being
Christine McLaughlin, Deputy Director: Finance Health and Wellbeing, Scottish Government

On 25 November the Committee received a letter from the Cabinet Secretary for Health and Wellbeing regarding the further information offered at the Committee meeting on 4 November.

On 29 October 2014 the Committee wrote to the Cabinet Secretary for Commonwealth Games, Sport, Equalities and Pensioners' Rights on the sport aspects of the Scottish Government’s draft budget 2014-15. The Cabinet Secretary replied on 7 November 2014.


On 12 January 2015 the Committee reported to the Finance Committee on Draft Budget 2015-16.

On 13 March 2015 the Committee received the formal response from the Scottish Government.


Clerk: Eugene Windsor