Section G: Bills

Proposals for Members’ Bills

A member seeking to introduce a Member’s Bill must first lodge a draft proposal, together with a consultation document (or a statement of reasons why consultation is not considered necessary). Subsequently, the member may lodge a final proposal, in broadly similar terms to the draft, accompanied by a summary of consultation responses (or the statement of reasons). The member secures the right to introduce a Bill to give effect to the proposal if the final proposal secures, within one month, the support of at least 18 other members from at least half the political parties or groups represented in the Parliamentary Bureau, and provided no indication is given that the Scottish Government or UK Government is planning equivalent legislation.

All current proposals (together with associated documents) are available on the Scottish Parliament website at:

Current Final Proposals

Names marked with an asterisk (*) are new names of support. Where a proposal has secured the necessary level of cross-party support, the supporters’ names are shown in bold.

Mark McDonald: Proposed High Hedges (Scotland) Bill—Proposal for a Bill to create a new right to apply to the local authority to prevent certain high hedges from interfering with neighbouring property, and to give that local authority power to determine rights in a case of dispute, subject to an appeals mechanism (lodged 22 March 2012).

The proposal is accompanied by a revised statement of reasons, which may be viewed in the Scottish Parliament Information Centre (SPICe) or on the website page referred to above.

Supported by: Paul Wheelhouse, Christine Grahame, Kenneth Gibson, Angus MacDonald, Richard Simpson, Christina McKelvie, Mike MacKenzie, Richard Lyle, Annabelle Ewing, Graeme Dey, Joe FitzPatrick, Kevin Stewart, Stuart McMillan, John Lamont, Bill Walker, Gil Paterson, John Pentland, Colin Keir, Humza Yousaf, Margaret Burgess, Alex Fergusson, Gordon MacDonald, David McLetchie, Margaret McCulloch, Iain Gray, Patricia Ferguson, Marco Biagi, Jackie Baillie, Helen Eadie, Ken Macintosh*