Motions, Questions and Answers Search


Motions, Questions and Answers Search Help

Opposition to Centralisation of Cleft Lip and Palate Surgery

That the Parliament expresses its concern at the decision by NHS board chief executives on 21 June 2016 to approve the recommendation of the National Specialist Services Committee to centralise cleft lip and palate surgery in Glasgow; is aware that cleft lip and palate surgical services are currently provided at both the Royal Hospital for Sick Children, Edinburgh and the Royal Hospital for Children, Glasgow; considers that the Edinburgh team delivers a world class service with high quality care and is aware that the audited outcomes for children following surgery in Edinburgh are extremely high; notes that the Edinburgh unit currently provides care for children living all across eastern Scotland; is aware of concerns among parents and clinicians about the consultation process for this proposed centralisation and that more than 5,700 people have signed an online petition opposing the plans; is further aware that the Cleft Lip and Palate Association (CLAPA) has spoken out about the lack of evidence to show that the existing two-site model is not working; is further aware that the Edinburgh unit is due to host the International Congress on Cleft Lip/Palate and Related Craniofacial Anomalies in 2021, and notes calls, given the level of concern among patients, parents and clinicians, for the Cabinet Secretary for Health and Sport to intervene and pause the centralisation plans to allow further consideration and to ensure that the specialist expertise, knowledge and care that has been built up in Edinburgh is not lost.

Supported by: Alison Harris, Oliver Mundell, Annie Wells, Douglas Ross, Peter Chapman, Alexander Burnett, Liz Smith, Iain Gray, Jeremy Balfour, John Lamont, Alexander Stewart, Liam Kerr, Neil Findlay, Murdo Fraser, Jackson Carlaw, Graham Simpson, Margaret Mitchell, Maurice Golden, Andy Wightman, Gordon Lindhurst, David Stewart, Alex Cole-Hamilton, Donald Cameron, Brian Whittle, Edward Mountain, Alex Rowley, Rachael Hamilton, Elaine Smith, Alison Johnstone, Ruth Davidson, Willie Rennie, Anas Sarwar, Lewis Macdonald, Kezia Dugdale, Mark Ruskell, Claire Baker

Current Status: Taken in the Chamber on 07/09/2016
This website is using cookies.
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.