Scottish Commission For Public Audit

The Scottish Commission for Public Audit is not formally a parliamentary committee. The Commission was established under Section 12 of the Public Finance and Accountability (Scotland) Act 2000 and is made up of 5 MSPs.

The main areas of responsibility of the Commission are to:

(a) examine Audit Scotland's proposals for the use of resources and expenditure and report on them to the Parliament;

(b) appoint a qualified person to audit the accounts of Audit Scotland;

(c) lay before the Parliament and publish a copy of Audit Scotland’s accounts and the auditor's report on them;

(d) appoint three of the five members of Audit Scotland on such terms and conditions as the SCPA determines

(e) appoint one of these three members to preside at meetings of Audit Scotland.

Recent Appointments made by the SCPA

Ian Leitch was appointed as Chair of Audit Scotland on 1 October 2015

Russel Griggs was appointed as a Board Member of Audit Scotland on 1 October 2015

Biographies of Members of the Board can be found on Audit Scotland’s Webpage 

Contact the Scottish Commission for Public Audit

Secretary: Alison Wilson


0131 348 5236


Colin Beattie MSP Colin Beattie


John Pentland MSP John Pentland
 Deputy Convener


Paul Martin MSPPaul Martin


 Alex Johnstone

Angus MacDonald MSP Angus MacDonald