Purpose of the group

  1. To support the development of sport, sporting and being active opportunities towards a more active Scotland
  2. To ensure that sport/being active, and the benefits of sport and being active, have a high profile in the Scottish Parliament
  3. To influence Scottish Government policy
  4. To liaise with sportscotland, Scottish Governing Bodies of sport and other relevant national and active recreation organisations in Scotland so that such organisations will be able to keep MSPs informed on matters affecting Scottish sport and a more active Scotland.

Forthcoming meetings

Next meeting:




Annual Return/Report

Group Officers

Group Members

Non MSP Individuals

David Laing

Doug Folan

Gavin Newlands MP

Jim Moyes

John Clayton

Ronald MacKenzie Sutherland


Scottish Sports Association - secretary

A&M Scotland

ADES (Association of Directors of Education in Scotland)

Association of British Riding Schools - Scotland

Ayrshire Sportsability

Chest Heart & Stroke Scotland

Developing Mountain Biking in Scotland

Fields in Trust, Scotland

GMB Scotland

Institute of Sport, Physical Education and Health Sciences, University of Edinburgh

Judo Scotland

Live Active Leisure

Mountaineering Scotland

North Lanarkshire Leisure Ltd

Observatory for Sport in Scotland


Paths for All

Physical Activity for Research Centre University of Edinburgh (PAHRC)

Ramblers Scotland

Scottish Archery Association

Scottish Association of Local Sports Councils (SALSC)

Scottish Athletics

Scottish Canoe Association

Scottish Cycling

Scottish Disability Sport

Scottish FA

Scottish Golf Ltd

Scottish Handball Association

Scottish Masters Weightlifting Association

Scottish Orienteering Association

Scottish Police Recreation Association

Scottish Student Sport

Scottish Target Shooting

Scottish Volleyball Association

Scottish Women in Sport


SportsAid Scotland

Table Tennis Scotland

Triathlon Scotland

University of Edinburgh

University of the West of Scotland

Get involved

Next meeting:




Alison Johnstone MSP

0131 348 6362

Liz Smith MSP

0131 348 6762

Scottish Parliament
Holyrood Road
EH99 1SP

This website is using cookies.
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.