Inflammatory Bowel Disease

Purpose of the group

The purpose of the group is:

  • To raise awareness of the issues faced by people living with IBD and the impact of the condition on their lives among parliamentarians.
  • To raise awareness of the high incidence of IBD in Scotland and the increasing incidence of childhood IBD
  • To promote and monitor implementation of the National Blueprint for Inflammatory Bowel Disease in Scotland
  • To be a stimulus to galvanise support from local and national policymakers
  • To act as a conduit for sharing and dissemination of best practice.

Forthcoming meetings

Next meeting: 21 February 2018

This meeting will be held at 6pm in the Adam Smith Room (CR5). This meeting will include the AGM.



Annual Return/Report

Group Officers

Group Members

Non MSP Individuals

Dr Ian Arnott - Deputy-Convener

Kirsty Gibson, 

Paul Johnson, 

Angus McLean, 

Claire Davidson, 

Edmund Murray, 

Janice Taylor, 

Dr Daniel Gaya,  

Dr Richard Russell, 

Dr Graeme Naismith, 

Dr Jonathan MacDonald, 

Prof Angus Watson, 

Vikki Garrick, 

Seth Squires, 

Pam Rogers, 

Prof David Wilson


Crohn’s and Colitis UK - secretary

Scottish Society of Gastroenterology,  

Royal College of Nurses (IBD Nurses Network Scotland),

Crohn’s in Childhood Research Association (CICRA),

Scottish Society of Paediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition (SSPGHAN), 

Health and Social Care Alliance Scotland (the ALLIANCE),


Get involved

Next meeting:
21 February 2018


Tel: 0141 404 0231


Pauline McNeill MSP

Scottish Parliament
EH99 1SP

0131 348 6475