Arthritis and Musculoskeletal Conditions

Purpose of the group

1. Seek to raise the awareness of ongoing issues affecting patients with Arthritis  and Musculoskeletal Conditions throughout Scotland:

to include  access to services, conditions affecting children, pharmacological and non-pharmacological interventions, relevant guidelines or an identified lack of guidance.

2. It will: 

  • aim to identify barriers to  change and improvement - and the measures required to overcome those.
  • liaise with appropriate agencies, academics and parliamentarians to consider and agree appropriate measures with a view to improvement of provision of health care and promotion of the health of people with arthritis and other musculo skeletal conditions
  • influence policy decisions of the Scottish Government, local authorities and other appropriate agencies to ensure that adequate levels of resources are deployed to address chief issues.
  • liaise with representatives from NHS Health Boards, Universities and other organisations as appropriate with regards to current relevant research,audit and reports
  • develop links with appropriate officials, within UK Government on an as and when required basis.

Forthcoming meetings

6 June 2018 at 5.30pm on the James Clerk Maxwell Room (CR4)

12 September 2018 at 5.30pm on the James Clerk Maxwell Room (CR4), this meeting will include the AGM

 7 November 2018 at 5.30pm on the James Clerk Maxwell Room (CR4)

Next meeting: 21 March 2018

This meeting will be held at 5.30pm in the James Clerk Maxwell Room (CR4).



Annual Return/Report

Group Officers

Group Members

Non MSP Individuals

Anne Simpson – secretariat 

Jackie Berg

Professor Colin Howie

Dr Jane Gibson 

Janice Johnson

Joan Kerr 

Angie Lloyd-Jones 

Dr Alan Macdonald

Mr Ali Mehdi

Professor Ian McKinnes

Dr Elizabeth Murphy 

Ann Murray

Professor Stuart Ralston

Dr Ruth Richmond

Dr Stefan Siebert


Arthritis Care Scotland

Arthritis  Research UK

Arthritis and Musculoskeletal Alliance UK

ASH Scotland

Association of British Pharmaceutical Industry Scotland

British Rheumatology Society

Community Pharmacy Scotland

Chartered Society of Physiotherapists Scotland

Glasgow Caledonian University/Rehabilitation/Musculoskeletal Health

College of Occupational Therapy Rheumatology Special Interest Group


Lupus UK

Strathclyde Branch-Lupus UK


National Ankylosing Spondylitis Society

National Rheumatoid Arthritis Society

National Osteoporosis Society


Non- Celgene


Polymyalgia Rheumatic/Giant Cell Arteritis Scotland

Queen Margaret University , Edinburgh/Nursing Division


Scottish Network for Arthritis  in Children

Scottish Paediatric and Adolescent Rheumatology Network

Scottish Society of Rheumatology

Vasculitis UK 

Get involved

Next meeting:
21 March 2018




Brian Whittle MSP

Scottish Parliament
EH99 1SP

0131 348 5623